Van Marwijk unveils final Holland squad

RNW archive

This article is part of the RNW archive. RNW is the former Radio Netherlands Worldwide or Wereldomroep, which was founded as the Dutch international public broadcaster in 1947. In 2011, the Dutch government decided to cut funding and shift RNW from the ministry of Education, Culture and Science to the ministry of Foreign Affairs. More information about RNW Media’s current activities can be found at

Siem de Jong, Vurnon Anita (both Ajax), Jeremain Lens (PSV) and Adam Maher (AZ) have been left out of the final 23-man Holland squad.

“They can hold their heads high as they leave the training camp ,” Holland boss Bert van Marwijk said early on Saturday. “I’ve just spoken extensively with the four players to explain my decision. They were entitled to that after a job well-done.”
Young talents Jetro Willems (PSV) and Luciano Narsingh (sc Heerenveen) have been included in the final squad. They received ample praise from Van Marwijk earlier this week for their sterling performance during Tuesday’s away friendly against Bayern Munich.
Willems (only just 18) is a potential candidate to replace injured club-mate Erik Pieters for the left-back spot. However, midfielder Stijn Schaars (Sporting Lisbon) has also volunteered to move to that position. Narsingh (21), who scored deftly with a chip over the German goalkeeper on Tuesday, is a right winger and is only likely to come on if Arjen Robben gets injured.

[related-articles]Today’s announcement was made six hours before the start of the first of three official pre-Euro 2012 friendlies.

Tonight, Holland face Bulgaria at the Amsterdam ArenA.

Next week, the Dutch meet Slovakia in Rotterdam (30 May) and Northern Ireland in Amsterdam (2 June) before travelling to their tournament base in Krakow, Poland, on 4 June.  

Holland face Denmark, Germany and Portugal in a “group of death” at Euro 2012, which runs from 8 June to 1 July.

Van Marwijk's 23 men:


Tim Krul (Newcastle United/ENG)
Maarten Stekelenburg (Roma/ITA)
Michel Vorm (Swansea City/WAL)
Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart/GER),
Wilfred Bouma (PSV Eindhoven)
John Heitinga (Everton/ENG)
Joris Mathijsen (Malaga/ESP)
Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord)
Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax)
Jetro Willems (PSV Eindhoven)
Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona/ESP)
Mark van Bommel (AC Milan/ITA)
Nigel de Jong (Manchester City/ENG)
Stijn Schaars (Sporting Lisbon/POR)
Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan/ITA)
Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven)
Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG)
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke/GER)
Luuk de Jong (FC Twente)
Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool/ENG)
Luciano Narsingh (Heerenveen)
Robin van Persie (Arsenal/ENG)
Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/GER)