WorldPopContest 2012: Final

RNW archive

This article is part of the RNW archive. RNW is the former Radio Netherlands Worldwide or Wereldomroep, which was founded as the Dutch international public broadcaster in 1947. In 2011, the Dutch government decided to cut funding and shift RNW from the ministry of Education, Culture and Science to the ministry of Foreign Affairs. More information about RNW Media’s current activities can be found at

Important: VOTING IS OVER - Please do not send us any more top 10s for this contest.

June 2012 was the month to vote for your top10s of the 15 songs in the just-for fun WorldPopContest.

'Rewards' on offer for those who voted were - first, for one person - a CD of their choice and a EuroHit40 or RNW T-shirt, plus a few other small goodies - and three such T-shirts for runners-up.

This contest was held purely for fun, all audio/video material has been found on public display on the internet or provided by those who have produced the music.

Contact Tim, your genial host, here!!

Join our fan clan on Facebook!


How it works:
Your top 10s will be used to produce the points to be awarded by your country.
Results will be posted in July, T-shirt winners will also be announced in July.

You can - if you prefer - also see/hear 14 of the 15 songs (not song K) here in a special YouTube playlist.

Here are the 15 songs:


Song A - for IRELAND - is Margie

Performers: Heathers

Composers: Heathers


Song B - for the United Kingdom - is The Cheat

Performers: Nowhere To Run

Composers: Daniel Anstiss, Joe Curd, Stephen Airey, Alex Metliss

Listen here


Song C
 - for Algeria - is Pour l'Algerie

Performer: Lotfi Double Kanon

Composer: Lotfi Double Kanon


Song D - for Italy - is called La Notte

Performer: Arisa


Song E - for Iran - is called Bodo Dire

Performers: Barobax


Song F - for Ecuador - is La Pregunta de Cajón

performer: Mirella Cesa

composers: Mirella Cesa and Ivis Flies


Song G - for Greece - is Pio Psila

Performers: Vegas


Song H - for Bulgaria - is called Vinagi Tvoya

Performer: Nevena Peykova

Composers: Emilia Marinova Ilieva and Iasen Vedrin




Song I - for New Zealand - is Lights Go Out

Performer: Dane Rumble

Composer: Dane Rumble

Song J - for Sweden - is Sober

Performer: Loreen


Song K - for India - is Krishna Tu Hain Kaha (Lord Krishna, I am missing you)

Performer: Chandrodaya Biswas

Composer: Chandrodaya Biswas


Song L - for Lithuania - is Fly LT

Performers: The Artrace

Composers: The Artrace, Gediminas Gelgotas


Song M - for Colombia - is Hasta El Techo

Performers: Chocquibtown

Composers: Chocquibtown



Song N - for the Netherlands - is Wish I Could

Performers: Miss Montreal



Song O - for Brazil - is Teu Lugar é Aqui

Performers: Ellens


RESULTS will be announced in July 2012...