Russian masterpieces

RNW archive

This article is part of the RNW archive. RNW is the former Radio Netherlands Worldwide or Wereldomroep, which was founded as the Dutch international public broadcaster in 1947. In 2011, the Dutch government decided to cut funding and shift RNW from the ministry of Education, Culture and Science to the ministry of Foreign Affairs. More information about RNW Media’s current activities can be found at

“…This is the opening statement of Alexander Borodin’s 2nd symphony. It starts as an old Russian fairy tale as if the low strings tell us: once upon a time in ancient Russia. This great symphony is part of a Russian program today live at the Concertgebouw
Karel Mark Chichon conducts the RCO in Borodin’s second symphony. Leonidas Kavakos is soloist in another Russian masterpiece, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto. And even this Giuseppe Verdi Overture has a Russian connection. The overture to the opera La forza del destino, the force of destiny. The opera was first performed in 1862 in St. Petersburg...” [RNW-host Hans Haffmans]

part 1


part 2


Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra / Karel Mark Chichon
Leonidas Kavakos, violin

Giuseppe Verdi: Overture ‘La forza del destino’
Peter Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto, Op. 35
Alexander Borodin: Symphony No. 2